OF RIZAL PARK

When I went to National Museum last weekend, I took the opportunity to rove around the Rizal Park. It had been so long since my last visit. The park, as usual, was filled with visitors from different walks of life. Aside from the illustrious Kalesa (carriage), I also saw an improved tramp vehicle that allows a band of tourists to roam around the historical places without minding to walk.

Towering in the middle of the park as always was the stately monument of our hero, Dr. Jose Rizal. But what made me curious about were the sentries who had used to guard the statue. They don’t really move no matter what. The notion of having a trifling thought had popped up in my mind: what if there’s an insect that would happen to creepily enter into their ear? I wager if the guard wouldn’t be emphatically disrupted. 🙂

But seriously, I was pensively wondering what if there was no such brilliant man like Rizal who had fought for freedom without using any ammunition to fight against the Spanish Colonizers. I am sure we can be described similar to a captive bird inside the cage that has no freedom to look forward to. Thus, the idea of putting a monument and naming the park after his name was an excellent choice.

~ by sherwinportillo on November 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
