“MY LOLO FIDEL”

Most of us have many memories with our grandparents. It may be happy or sad, these experiences are always kept deep inside us wherever we are or wherever we may go.  My memorable memories with my Lolo Fidel started when my parents decided to live temporarily in Crossing, Barangay Victoria, Tago, Surigao Del Sur.

Being a very hyper active kid then, the Portillo’s Rice Mill that was solely owned by my Lolo in Crossing had been my favorite playground. It was my hiding place for the hide and seek game while at the same time hilariously wading through the winnowed rice husks that had been formed to be like a tiny crest coming from the ejection of the exhaust nozzles at the rice mill’s engine outside the shabby building.

Everytime I heard a familiar chugging of a hauler truck, I knew that he’s around. I would then stride immediately outside our home and gave him a sign of respect by letting his right hand be touched into my forehead (one of the Filipino traits). I knew also that he had to buy me eventually a “Bobot” candy in the nearby store.

Every Christmas, I couldn’t remember that the whole family and his other siblings would not be present at their house in Tago. He loved showering coins to his grandchildren while we were happily dancing and rummaging through every corner of the living room. If I would recall it I can intuitively say it to myself how happy those memories then. It was like there’s no tomorrow.

As the years passed by, things had changed. The turmoil rice mill before was fading and eventually silent like a haunted building. All you can hear was the whispers of the wind that had been passing through the trite broken walls. My Lolo was getting old and sickly. No one of his children had the interest in rice mill business. His only hope would have been his son Douglas who liked farming but he died untimely.

The memorable thing that I admired most about my Lolo is that he was religious despite of everything. He always prayed the holy rosary everyday in his room and he eagerly woke up every early Sunday to go to church and attend the mass although you’d be embarrassed sometimes if you accompany him because he loudly spoke and yawned to the point that it would waft out all over the church due to his hearing problem. But then again, his being religious, generous and kind will always be treasured deep inside me.

I miss you, Lolo Fidel.

~ by sherwinportillo on May 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
